Our Story | Part Three

Welcome back! If you need to catch up, read Part One and Part Two first!

Once we decided that we were ready to start trying for Baby #2, we only had to wait a couple of weeks until my fertile window. Once the window arrived, we went from barely having sex (like maybe 3x per month) to a rigid, sex-every-day regime. Toward the end of our fertile window, Hubby was laid off from work again. He got the news on a Thursday and didn’t tell me, but we didn’t have sex that night. I was furious, because he knew that our window was almost over, but he insisted that he was too tired. The next day I found out he’d lost his job.

That was the first time I could ever remember actually fighting about sex. Unfortunately, it wasn’t the last.

Thankfully, my positive pregnancy test a few weeks later came at the same time as a new job offer for him. He was once again working, and we were once again expecting a baby. We were excited and I was exhausted. There was a short-lived period of romance as we dreamed of what our baby would look like, talked about names, and wondered if we’d have another boy or get a girl this time. Our sex life improved temporarily before the all-day-long sickness and fatigue sat in.

As we anticipated the arrival of Baby #2, we opened up to one another again. We shared our hopes and dreams, we talked about our fears, and we made plans for the future. We also spent a great deal of my pregnancy planning a VBAC, which led to extensive conversations. I felt fuzzy feelings for him again, and I assumed we were once again happy.

But after Baby Brother arrived, our marriage took a nosedive.

One thought on “Our Story | Part Three

Leave a comment